Cheeseburger Dortios – A Tale of Lost then Found Love

18 Jun

If you knew me in real life you would know that I eat very healthy most of time. 9 out of 10 times I will turn down cake at a party, I count my calories and get my work outs in.

HOWEVER, there are a few particular food items that I just cannot say no to.  Sushi is #1, I can NEVER turn down Sushi.  #2 is a Giant Salted Soft Pretzel with Nacho cheese to dip with. Those are my 2 favorite foods of all time.

About a month ago the morning radio show I listen to ever day started talking about these new “Late Night Cheeseburger Doritos” and I knew just then and there I HAD to try these. I told my Husband and he found me my first bag of these chips. I was instantly in love.

Inhaling would not even begin to describe how quickly I went through that first bag of Doritos. I couldn’t get enough, they tasted JUST like a McDonald’s Cheeseburger. Now all this coming from a former Vegetarian was quiet shocking to my family and friends and I raved about my new-found love. I found one more bag about a week later, went through that and then the unthinkable happened… I COULDN’T FIND THEM ANYWHERE!!!!

I went to every store I could think of, 7-11, CVS, Walgreens, Target, the grocery store… NO WHERE!! 2 weeks went by and it was like a drug withdrawal (not that I would no what that is like, drugs are bad kids stay away). My mouth would salivate at the thought of them.

Yesterday a miracle happened. I stopped at Target to pick up toilet paper and paper towels and decided I would just double-check that they didn’t have my beloved chips. I quickly rush my cart across the store, turn quickly into the aisle without even checking to see if I was going to run into anyone and begin to scan the rows with wide eyes, panic across my face… And there they were in all their glory.  I squealed out load and let out a Napoleon Dynamite “YES!” And It was like the heavens opened up from above and these beautiful bags of chips were sparkling like Hot Teen Vampires.

I bought 3 bags, yes 3 big bags. 1 bag for my best friend who I promised once I found these chips again I would buy a bag for her so she could experience the awesomeness of said chips. And 2 for me.

I called my Hub to share the joyful news. You’d think I won the lottery or something.

It was a glorious day, and yes I ate WAY to many of them last night. Probably about 1/2 the bag. Good thing I’m going on a hike tomorrow, I’m going to need to burn off these extra calories. It was totally worth it though.

Midgey

One Response to “Cheeseburger Dortios – A Tale of Lost then Found Love”

  1. Cindy June 19, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    OMG. I discover Cheeseburger Doritos last weekend. I ate the entire bag by myself in 2 days. I say now I refuse to buy another bag, but I know I will probably break next time I go the grocery store.

    Thank you for commenting on my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

